Financial Inclusion Strategy (FIS) Peer Learning Group

The Alliance for Financial Inclusion (AFI) established the Financial Inclusion Peer (FIS) learning group as a support mechanism for countries developing and implementing financial inclusion strategies. Many countries are increasingly interested in developing national financial inclusion strategies as frameworks to guide policy and regulatory reforms and to encourage the alignment of public and private sector stakeholders under a unified vision and shared goals.

The commitments that AFI members have made under the Maya Declaration and to the G20 through its Financial Inclusion Peer Learning Program reflect this global trend.

At the 2012 AFI Global Policy Forum (GPF) 97 percent of participants polled considered a national financial inclusion strategy as an essential measure to accelerate the spread of financial inclusion. However, only 21 percent of AFI members reported having a strategy in place, reflecting some of the challenges faced by countries seeking to develop and implement a national financial inclusion strategy.

AFI members elected to formalize the FIS peer learning group as an additional AFI working group with fixed membership, a charter and governance procedures following its first two successful meetings in Abuja, Nigeria, in October 2012 and in Bangkok, Thailand, in March 2013. At the third meeting in Kuala Lumpur in September 2013 the Group adopted a Charter and Work Plan. At the fourth meeting held in Nadi, Fiji, in March 2014 the group established four thematic and regional subgroups.


  • Facilitate peer learning on the different approaches to strategy development and implementation across the network;
  • Provide a platform for peer reviews of draft strategies and action plans;
  • Develop joint guidance on aspects of national strategy formulation and implementation; and
  • Support the capacity of members to develop and implement financial inclusion strategies, including through connections to expert stakeholders.

Topics to be covered

Initial topics identified as priorities for the (FIS) Peer Leanring Group to examine include:

  • Financial inclusion leadership and national coordination;
  • Effective public-private partnerships for financial inclusion;
  • Issues in the sequencing of financial inclusion, financial education and financial consumer protection strategies;
  • Data for financial inclusion strategies including diagnostic exercises and national target setting; and
  • Identification of key challenges and barriers for strategy formulation and implementation

Members (48)

  • Undersecretariat of Treasury of the Republic of Turkey (co-chair)
  • Central Bank of Nigeria (co-chair)
  • Royal Monetary Authority of Bhutan (co-chair)
  • Bangladesh Bank
  • Microcredit Regulatory Authority of Bangladesh
  • Ministry of Finance Bangladesh
  • Central Bank of Sri Lanka
  • Central Bank of Sudan
  • Superintendencia General de Entidades Financieras de Costa Rica
  • National Bank of the Republic of Belarus
  • Banque de la République du Burundi
  • Ministère des Finances et de la Planification du Développement Economique du Burundi
  • Ministerio de Hacienda de Chile
  • People’s Bank of China
  • Banco Central del Ecuador
  • Ministerio de Inclusión Económica y Social de Ecuador
  • Banco Centrale de Reserva de El Salvador
  • Superintendencia del Sistema Financiero de El Salvador
  • Reserve Bank of Fiji
  • Banque de la République d’Haiti
  • National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia
  • Direction Générale du Trésor, Ministère des Finances et du Budget, Madagascar
  • Bank Negara Malaysia
  • Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores (CNBV) Mexico
  • Secretaría de Hacienda y Crédito Público de México
  • Bank of Mongolia
  • Ministère de l’Economie et des finances du Sénégal
  • Palestine Monetary Authority
  • Bank of Papua New Guinea
  • Ministerio de Economia y Finanzas Peru
  • Superintendencia de Banca, Seguros y AFP (SBS) del Perú
  • Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas
  • Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning Rwanda
  • Central Bank of Samoa
  • Bank of Sierra Leone
  • Ministry of Finance of Swaziland
  • Bank of Tanzania
  • Ministère de l’Economie et des Finances du Togo
  • State Bank of Pakistan 
  • Bank of Uganda
  • Banque Centrale des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (BCEAO)
  • Central Bank of Yemen
  • National Bank of Cambodia
  • Bank Indonesia
  • Reserve Bank of India
  • Nepal Rastra Bank
  • Reserve Bank of Vanuatu
  • Comision Nacional de Bancos y Seguros, Honduras
Hide from home page / views: