Maya Declaration: The AFI member commitment to financial inclusion

What is the Maya Declaration? 

The Maya Declaration is the first global and measurable set of commitments by developing and emerging country governments to unlock the economic and social potential of the 2.5 billion ‘unbanked’ people through greater financial inclusion. More than 90 such countries – representing more than 75 percent of the world’s unbanked population – have supported the Declaration. Each country makes measurable commitments in four broad areas that have been proven to increase financial inclusion.

These include:

  • Create an enabling environment to harness new technology that increases access to and lowers the costs of financial services;
  • Implement a proportional framework that advances synergies in financial inclusion, integrity, and stability;
  • Integrate consumer protection and empowerment as a key pillar of financial inclusion;
  • Utilize data for informed policymaking and tracking results.

Download: A Quick Guide to the Maya Declaration on Financial Inclusion

Maya Declaration Advocacy Toolkit

This toolkit is designed to provide useful resources to help raise greater awareness and further promote the Maya Declaration.

The toolkit includes:

  • Maya Declaration Factsheet: A quick guide to the Maya Declaration;
  • Maya Declaration and Sasana Accord texts;
  • Maya Declaration Logo: A high resolution logo that can be shared in your institution website to highlight your commitment to financial inclusion;
  • Institutional Commitments to the Maya Declaration: Commitments made by AFI member institutions;
  • Presentation Template: A customizable presentation highlighting key facts on the Maya Declaration and institutional commitment;
  • Annual Progress Reports: Annual reports that capture AFI member institutions’ achievement and progresses towards meeting their commitments;
  • Articles and Quotes: Relevant publications and quotes on the Maya Declaration.

Click here to download the Maya Declaration Advocacy Toolkit

Maya Declaration Commitments

Banco Central de Reserva de El Salvador/Superintendencia del Sistema Financiero
Banco Central del Ecuador
Banco Central del Paraguay
Banco Central do Brasil
Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas
Bangladesh Bank/Microcredit Regulatory Authority of Bangladesh
Bank Al-Maghrib Morocco
Bank Indonesia
Bank Negara Malaysia
Bank of Ghana
Bank of Namibia
Bank of Papua New Guinea
Bank of Sierra Leone
Bank of Tanzania
Bank of Uganda
Bank of Zambia
Banque Centrale du Congo
Banque de la République d'Haiti

Banque de la République du Burundi
Central Bank of Armenia
Central Bank of Guinea
Central Bank of Kenya
Central Bank of Liberia
Central Bank of Mozambique
Central Bank of Nigeria
Central Bank of Samoa
Central Bank of Solomon Islands
Central Bank of Trinidad and Tobago
Comision Nacional Bancarias y de Valores (CNBV) Mexico
Financial Regulatory Commission of Mongolia
Direction Générale du Trésor, Ministère des Finances et du Budget, Madagascar


La Comisión Nacional de Bancos y Seguros de Honduras
Ministry of Economy and Finance Senegal
Ministry of Finance and Public Credit Colombia
Ministry of Social Development Chile
National Bank of Ethiopia
National Bank of Rwanda
National Bank of Tajikistan
National Bank of the Republic of Belarus
Nepal Rastra Bank
Palestine Monetary Authority
Reserve Bank of Fiji
Reserve Bank of Malawi
Reserve Bank of Vanuatu
State Bank of Pakistan
Superintendencia de Banca, Seguros y AFP (SBS) del Peru
Superintendencia de Bancos de Guatemala
Superintendencia de Bancos de Panamá