AFI Awards

Since 2013, AFI has devoted a special evening at the Global Policy Forum (GPF) to honoring those whose participation and contribution to the AFI network sets them apart. This tradition continues at the 2018 AFI Awards ceremony in Sochi, where we recognize member institutions and individuals who have excelled in enhancing financial inclusion over the past year, both globally and in their respective countries.

AFI Awards are given to members who have consistently contributed to the wealth of financial inclusion knowledge in the network and advanced peer learning. The nominees have demonstrated strong leadership, supported peer learning services and stood up in support of AFI’s global advocacy for financial inclusion. View photos of the 2018 AFI Award winners.

2018 AFI Award Winners

Technical Leadership Award

The Technical Leadership Award recognizes technical staff from AFI member institutions who have been most active in providing peer reviews and leading Working Groups and Regional Initiatives. They have also shown leadership in providing content development, speaking at various global forums, writing blogs on AFI and financial inclusion and providing guidance on AFI’s policy development to the rest of the network.

The winner for this award is:

Ms. Nangi Massawee, Bank of Tanzania

Young Generation Award

Young technical staff are key to ensuring that our institutions remain sustainable, and their contribution to quality assessment and peer learning in AFI’s technical working groups provides the network with vital, practical examples of policies that work. AFI recognizes the contribution of upcoming young experts in the network who are under 35 and have made a substantial contribution to the Working Groups and Regional Initiatives.

The winners for this award are:

  1. Ms. Jenny Romero, Bangko Sentral Ng Pilipinas
  2. Dr. Arthur Pokrikyan, Central Bank of Armenia
  3. Ms. Ann Valery Victor, Banque De La Republiqué D’haiti
  4. Mr. Aktham Abuassi, Central Bank Of Jordan
  5. Ms. Liz Julienne, Central Bank of Seychelles
  6. Norma Qurusu, Central Bank of Solomon Islands

Advocacy Champion Award

As a policy leadership alliance, AFI aims to elevate the voices of its members to set the global financial inclusion agenda and draw attention to the policy implementation challenges that require global support. This award recognizes members who have represented AFI on various global platforms and raised the AFI flag as a global advocate for financial inclusion.


This year we recognize the leaders of the Pacific Islands Regional Initiative (PIRI) as champions in the AFI network for raising the de-risking issue regionally and globally. The winners are:

  1. Mr. Abraão F. de Vasconselos, Governor, Banco Central de Timor-Leste
  2. Mr. Loi Bakani, Governor, Bank of Papua New Guinea
  3. Mrs. Maiava Atalina Ainuu-Enari, Governor, Central Bank of Samoa
  4. Mr. Denton Rarawa, Governor, Central Bank of Solomon Islands
  5. Mr. Ariff Ali, Governor, Reserve Bank of Fiji
  6. Dr. Sione Ngongo Kioa, Governor, National Reserve Bank of Tonga
  7. Mr. Simeon Malachi Athy, Governor, Reserve Bank of Vanuatu


This year we are recognizing the entire Gender and Women’s Financial Inclusion Committee for its work in bridging the financial inclusion gender gap, both globally and domestically. The winners are:

  1. Dr. Tukiya Kankasa-Mabula, GWFIC Chair, Deputy Governor, Bank of Zambia
  2. Ms. Lobna Helal, GWFIC Vice Chair, Deputy Governor, Central Bank of Egypt
  3. Dr. Monique Nsanzabaganwa, Member, Vice Governor, National Bank of Rwanda
  4. Ms. Mathabo Makenete, Member, Deputy Governor, Central Bank of Lesotho
  5. Ms. Serey Chea, Member, Director General, National Bank of Cambodia
  6. Ms. Evelyn Gracias, Member, Head, Financial System Regulation Department, Banco Central del El Salvador
  7. Mr. Abdul Matin Ghafori, Member, Deputy Director General, Financial Inclusion Department, Da Afghanistan Bank

Maya Declaration Award

Launched at the 2011 GPF in Riviera Maya, Mexico, the Maya Declaration represents the world’s first commitment platform for financial inclusion. A public commitment to the Maya Declaration is a way for AFI members to champion financial inclusion and contribute to several of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

The Maya Declaration Award recognizes AFI member institutions that have reported significant progress on the AFI Data Portal: the main global database of financial inclusion policies, regulations and national targets for addressing financial inclusion challenges. Progress reports on national financial inclusion commitments are aligned with the Sasana Accord, Maputo Accord, Denarau Accord and the Sharm El Sheikh Accord.

The winner for this award is:

Banque Centrale des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (BCEAO)

Peer Leadership Award

After a decade of establishing our place in the global financial inclusion policy landscape, we celebrate our 10th anniversary as a proactive policy leadership alliance. Our collaborative peer learning approach draws on practical, evidence-based policy guidance to devise and implement financial inclusion policies and regulatory frameworks that work.

The AFI Peer Leadership Award recognizes leaders who have propelled peer learning in the network and provided policy guidance through the peer learning process, such as Joint Learning Programs, knowledge exchanges and global and regional initiatives.

The winner for this award is:

Bank of Ghana

Special Recognition

This year we are honoring AFI member institutions with two special recognition:

AFI Hosts

We are awarding a special token of appreciation, an AFI medallion, to all AFI member institutions (and some partners) that hosted an AFI event between GPF 2017 and GPF 2018, including those who organized events to commemorate AFI’s 10th anniversary, such as Mexico, Armenia, Jordan, Côte d’Ivoire and Samoa, just to name a few.

  1. Banco Central do Brasil and Banco Central de Portugal
  2. Bank Negara Malaysia
  3. Bangladesh Bank
  4. Central Bank of Jordan
  5. Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores de México – CNBV
  6. Superintendencia General de Entidades Financieras de Costa Rica – SUGEF
  7. Central Bank of Armenia
  8. Central Bank of Nigeria
  9. National Bank of Cambodia
  10. Banque Centrale de la République de Guinée
  11. Bank of Ghana
  12. Central Bank of Samoa
  13. National Bank of Tajikistan
  14. Central Bank of Egypt