AFI Global Financial Inclusion Awards Ceremony at AFI GPF, Dead Sea, Jordan

2 May 2023

The AFI 2023 Global Financial Inclusion Awards are around the corner!

We are delighted to announce that nominations for the 2023 AFI Global Financial Inclusion Awards are now open!

Building on the exciting 2022 edition of the awards, AFI is once again inviting financial sector regulators and policymakers to nominate themselves for these prestigious titles. As the only global awards to commemorate outstanding commitment to advancing financial inclusion, prizes will honor policymakers and regulators who have gone above and beyond to develop and implement high-impact policies that improve the access, usage, and quality of formal financial services for populations that need it most. Coveted trophies will be up for grabs in three categories, two of which will require institutions to nominate themselves and submit their nomination forms.

Winners will be announced during a special ceremony at the 2023 AFI Global Policy Forum which is set to take place in the Philippines later this year as co-hosted by Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas.

Categories requiring nomination submission
The Nestor Espenilla Jr. Financial Inclusion Innovation Award will be given to the AFI member institution that has demonstrated unwavering commitment and leadership in optimizing new technology and innovation to drive financial inclusion. This Award commemorates the late governor of Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, whose leadership promoted policies and catapulted policymakers and regulators toward embracing innovations in financial inclusion.

Our second award, the Global Youth Financial Inclusion Award, is the only category open to financial regulators from both within and outside the AFI network. One winner will be chosen based on their policies and initiatives aimed at removing the structural barriers faced by youth in accessing formal financial services. The network assumed responsibility for this award from the Netherlands-based non-governmental organization Child and Youth Finance International in 2019.

 AFI-nominated categories
Awards are also up for grabs in the Peer Leadership Award category: Maya Declaration Commitment, Institutional Leadership, and Technical Leadership. No nominations are required for these awards. Finalists and winners will be selected by the AFI Management Unit, based on members’ commitment and contribution to the AFI network in the past year.

Submitting your nomination
Nominate your institution by 23:59 Malaysia time (UTC +8 hours) on Friday, 16 June 2023 to stand a chance to win. Want to learn more? Click here and apply.

Interested in last year’s winners? Click here for the 2022 AFI Awards Report

© Alliance for Financial Inclusion 2009-2023