Financial Inclusion Strategy Peer Learning Group (FISPLG)

The Alliance for Financial Inclusion (AFI) established the Financial Inclusion Peer Learning Group (FISPLG) as a support mechanism for countries developing and implementing financial inclusion strategies. Many countries are increasingly interested in developing national financial inclusion strategies as frameworks to guide policy and regulatory reforms and to encourage the alignment of public and private sector stakeholders under a unified vision and shared goals.

The commitments that AFI members have made under the Maya Declaration and to the G20 through its Financial Inclusion Peer Learning Program reflect this global trend.

At the 2012 Global Policy Forum (GPF) 97 percent of participants polled considered a national financial inclusion strategy as an essential measure to accelerate the spread of financial inclusion. However, only 21 percent of AFI members reported having a strategy in place, reflecting some of the challenges faced by countries seeking to develop and implement a national financial inclusion strategy.

AFI members elected to formalize the FISPLG as an additional AFI working group with fixed membership, a charter and governance procedures following its first two successful meetings in Abuja, Nigeria, in October 2012 and in Bangkok, Thailand, in March 2013. At the third meeting in Kuala Lumpur in September 2013 the Group adopted a Charter and Work Plan.


  • Facilitate peer learning on the different approaches to strategy development and implementation across the network;
  • Provide a platform for peer reviews of draft strategies and action plans;
  • Develop joint guidance on aspects of national strategy formulation and implementation; and
  • Support the capacity of members to develop and implement financial inclusion strategies, including through connections to expert stakeholders.

Topics to be covered

Initial topics identified as priorities for the FISPLG to examine include:

  • Financial inclusion leadership and national coordination;
  • Engage the private sector in financial inclusion strategies;
  • Issues in the sequencing of financial inclusion, financial education and financial consumer protection strategies; and
  • Data measurement and national target setting to inform strategies in coordination with the Financial Inclusion Data Working Group (FIDWG).


  • The first meeting of the FISPLG was held in Abuja, Nigeria, in October 2012 alongside the launch of Nigeria’s National Financial Inclusion Strategy.
  • The second meeting of the FISPLG was held in Bangkok, Thailand, on 6-7 March 2013.
  • The third meeting was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, before the start of the 2013 GPF.

Members (35)

  • State Bank of Pakistan (co-chair)
  • Ministère de l'Economie et des finances du Sénégal (co-chair)
  • Bangladesh Bank 
  • Microcredit Regulatory Authority of Bangladesh 
  • National Bank of the Republic of Belarus 
  • Royal Monetary Authority of Bhutan  
  • Banque de la République du Burundi 
  • Ministère des Finances et de la Planification du Développement Economique du Burundi 
  • People's Bank of China 
  • Ministry of Finance of Chile  
  • Instituto Nacional de Economía Popula y Solidaria of Ecuador
  • Superintendencia del Sistema Financiero de El Salvador  
  • Reserve Bank of Fiji
  • Central Bank of Yemen
  • Banque de la République d' Haiti
  • National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia
  • Direction Générale du Trésor, Ministère des Finances et du Budget, Madagascar 
  • Bank Negara Malaysia
  • Banco Central del Ecuador
  • Comisión Nacional Bancaria y de Valores (CNBV) 
  • Bank of Mongolia
  • Central Bank of Nigeria Palestine Monetary Authority 
  • Bank of Papua New Guinea 
  • Ministry of Economics and Finance of Peru
  • Superintendencia de Banca, Seguros Y AFP de Peru 
  • Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas
  • Central Bank of Samoa 
  • Banque Centrale des Etats de l'Afrique de l'Ouest  
  • Bank of Sierra Leone Ministry of Finance of Swaziland 
  • Bank of Tanzania 
  • Ministère de l'Economie et des Finances du Togo
  • Republic of Turkey Prime Ministry Undersecretariat of Treasury
  • Bank of Uganda