Banque Centrale des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (BCEAO)

Banque Centrale des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, or BCEAO, is a principal member that received the Maya Declaration Award at the 2018 AFI Global Policy Forum in Sochi, Russia for reporting significant progress in financial inclusion on the AFI Data Portal.

BCEAO had made 23 Maya Declaration targets, eight of which it has completed. This includes the implementation of global interoperability across BCEAO’s member countries by end of 2020, including digital financial service providers, accounts and channels.

The regional central bank, a member of six working groups, joined the AFI network in January 2011. Its governor, Tiémoko Meyliet Koné, previously served on AFI’s board of directors. It has been an active participant of capacity building events, such as at member training on digital financial services and anti-money laundering and countering financing of terrorism.

Tiémoko Meyliet Kone

For more information visit
Back To Members

© Alliance for Financial Inclusion 2009-2024